Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

Weekends with Max and His Dad

ebook
"Fans of Clementine and Ramona have a reason to rejoice: there's a new kid on the block . . . Bighearted, hilarious, and tender." —Katherine Applegate, Newbery medalist

Max and his dad love their weekends together. Weekends mean pancakes, pizza, spy games, dog-walking, school projects, and surprising neighbors! Every weekend presents a small adventure as Max gets to know his dad's new neighborhood—and learns some new ways of thinking about home. Acclaimed author Linda Urban deftly portrays a third-grader's inner world during a time of transition in this sweet and funny illustrated story that bridges the early reader and middle-grade novel.

"Urban's subtle and perceptive take on divorce will resonate with children facing similar predicaments as she blends Max's worries and 'someone-sitting-on-his-chest' feelings with a vivid imagination and good intentions that take father and son on some very entertaining adventures—with future ones planned." —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Urban excels at credibly presenting this situation from Max's third-grade point of view . . . Urban's writing is both crisply specific (a basset hound 'sniffed as she walked through puddles, dragging her ears like flat-bottomed boats') and simple enough to be accessible." —The Bulletin (starred review)

"A sweet, empathetic look at a common situation." —Kirkus Reviews

"Urban's touch is light throughout . . . a story just right for budding chapter-book readers." —The Horn Book

"The cast of characters grows throughout, but at the heart of the story is Max's warm, easygoing relationship with his father." —Booklist

Expand title description text
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Awards:

Kindle Book

  • Release date: December 15, 2020

OverDrive Read

  • ISBN: 9780544598195
  • File size: 38458 KB
  • Release date: December 15, 2020

EPUB ebook

  • ISBN: 9780544598195
  • File size: 42287 KB
  • Release date: December 15, 2020

Loading
Loading

Formats

Kindle Book
OverDrive Read
EPUB ebook

Languages

English

Levels

ATOS Level:4.1
Lexile® Measure:630
Interest Level:K-3(LG)
Text Difficulty:2-3

"Fans of Clementine and Ramona have a reason to rejoice: there's a new kid on the block . . . Bighearted, hilarious, and tender." —Katherine Applegate, Newbery medalist

Max and his dad love their weekends together. Weekends mean pancakes, pizza, spy games, dog-walking, school projects, and surprising neighbors! Every weekend presents a small adventure as Max gets to know his dad's new neighborhood—and learns some new ways of thinking about home. Acclaimed author Linda Urban deftly portrays a third-grader's inner world during a time of transition in this sweet and funny illustrated story that bridges the early reader and middle-grade novel.

"Urban's subtle and perceptive take on divorce will resonate with children facing similar predicaments as she blends Max's worries and 'someone-sitting-on-his-chest' feelings with a vivid imagination and good intentions that take father and son on some very entertaining adventures—with future ones planned." —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Urban excels at credibly presenting this situation from Max's third-grade point of view . . . Urban's writing is both crisply specific (a basset hound 'sniffed as she walked through puddles, dragging her ears like flat-bottomed boats') and simple enough to be accessible." —The Bulletin (starred review)

"A sweet, empathetic look at a common situation." —Kirkus Reviews

"Urban's touch is light throughout . . . a story just right for budding chapter-book readers." —The Horn Book

"The cast of characters grows throughout, but at the heart of the story is Max's warm, easygoing relationship with his father." —Booklist

Expand title description text