Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

Calling My Name

ebook

"Calling My Name is a treasure."—Nic Stone, New York Times–bestselling author of Dear Martin

Calling My Name is a striking, luminous, and literary exploration of family, spirituality, and self—ideal for readers of Jacqueline Woodson, Jandy Nelson, Naomi Shihab Nye, and Sandra Cisneros. This unforgettable novel tells a universal coming-of-age story about Taja Brown, a young African American girl growing up in Houston, Texas, and deftly and beautifully explores the universal struggles of growing up, battling family expectations, discovering a sense of self, and finding a unique voice and purpose. Told in fifty-three short, episodic, moving, and iridescent chapters, Calling My Name follows Taja on her journey from middle school to high school. Literary and noteworthy, this is a beauty of a novel that captures the multifaceted struggle of finding where you belong and why you matter.


Expand title description text
Publisher: HarperCollins

Kindle Book

  • Release date: October 24, 2017

OverDrive Read

  • ISBN: 9780062656889
  • File size: 4131 KB
  • Release date: October 24, 2017

EPUB ebook

  • ISBN: 9780062656889
  • File size: 4131 KB
  • Release date: October 24, 2017

Loading
Loading

Formats

Kindle Book
OverDrive Read
EPUB ebook

Languages

English

Levels

ATOS Level:5
Interest Level:9-12(UG)
Text Difficulty:3-4

"Calling My Name is a treasure."—Nic Stone, New York Times–bestselling author of Dear Martin

Calling My Name is a striking, luminous, and literary exploration of family, spirituality, and self—ideal for readers of Jacqueline Woodson, Jandy Nelson, Naomi Shihab Nye, and Sandra Cisneros. This unforgettable novel tells a universal coming-of-age story about Taja Brown, a young African American girl growing up in Houston, Texas, and deftly and beautifully explores the universal struggles of growing up, battling family expectations, discovering a sense of self, and finding a unique voice and purpose. Told in fifty-three short, episodic, moving, and iridescent chapters, Calling My Name follows Taja on her journey from middle school to high school. Literary and noteworthy, this is a beauty of a novel that captures the multifaceted struggle of finding where you belong and why you matter.


Expand title description text
  • Details

    Publisher:
    HarperCollins

    Kindle Book
    Release date: October 24, 2017

    OverDrive Read
    ISBN: 9780062656889
    File size: 4131 KB
    Release date: October 24, 2017

    EPUB ebook
    ISBN: 9780062656889
    File size: 4131 KB
    Release date: October 24, 2017

  • Creators
  • Formats
    Kindle Book
    OverDrive Read
    EPUB ebook
  • Languages
    English
  • Levels
    ATOS Level: 5
    Interest Level: 9-12(UG)
    Text Difficulty: 3-4
  • Reviews
    Loading
    Loading