Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

The Girl from the Island

ebook
Pre-order your copy now: the emotional tale of sisters and secrets from the Number One bestselling author of The Forgotten Village and The Forbidden Promise ______________ 'A book to get lost in... Love, suspense and a page-turning story' Tracy Rees, Richard and Judy bestselling author A world at war. One woman will risk everything. Another will uncover her story. 1940: When the island of Guernsey is invaded by the Nazis, two sisters are determined to rebel in any way they can. But when forced to take in a German soldier, they are shocked to find a familiar face on their doorstep – a childhood friend who has now become their enemy. 2016: Two generations later, Lucy returns to Guernsey after the death of a distant cousin. As she prepares the old family house for sale, Lucy discovers a box of handwritten notes, one word standing out: resistance. Lucy's search for the author will uncover the story of a forgotten sister who vanished from the island one night, never to be seen again. A timeless story of love and bravery, perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Rachel Hore. Praise for The Girl from the Island 'Paints an evocative picture of the bravery, fortitude and heart-breaking decisions of two British sisters living under German occupation on the beautiful island of Guernsey during WWII' Adrienne Chin, author of The English Wife 'With a descriptive backdrop this story offers intrigue and tender romance. Highly recommended' Glynis Peters, author of The Secret Orphan 'A heart-rending, devastating, beautiful book that brings Guernsey's past to life in a fresh and thoroughly readable way' Louise Douglas, author of The House by the Sea 'A sweeping tale of love and courage, The Girl from the Island is tender and shocking in equal measure. Get ready for an utterly absorbing, heart-rending read. I loved it' Emma Rous, author of The Au Pair

Expand title description text
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers

Kindle Book

  • ISBN: 9780008379070
  • Release date: April 1, 2021

OverDrive Read

  • ISBN: 9780008379070
  • Release date: April 1, 2021

EPUB ebook

  • ISBN: 9780008379070
  • File size: 2092 KB
  • Release date: April 1, 2021

Formats

Kindle Book
OverDrive Read
EPUB ebook

Languages

English

Pre-order your copy now: the emotional tale of sisters and secrets from the Number One bestselling author of The Forgotten Village and The Forbidden Promise ______________ 'A book to get lost in... Love, suspense and a page-turning story' Tracy Rees, Richard and Judy bestselling author A world at war. One woman will risk everything. Another will uncover her story. 1940: When the island of Guernsey is invaded by the Nazis, two sisters are determined to rebel in any way they can. But when forced to take in a German soldier, they are shocked to find a familiar face on their doorstep – a childhood friend who has now become their enemy. 2016: Two generations later, Lucy returns to Guernsey after the death of a distant cousin. As she prepares the old family house for sale, Lucy discovers a box of handwritten notes, one word standing out: resistance. Lucy's search for the author will uncover the story of a forgotten sister who vanished from the island one night, never to be seen again. A timeless story of love and bravery, perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Rachel Hore. Praise for The Girl from the Island 'Paints an evocative picture of the bravery, fortitude and heart-breaking decisions of two British sisters living under German occupation on the beautiful island of Guernsey during WWII' Adrienne Chin, author of The English Wife 'With a descriptive backdrop this story offers intrigue and tender romance. Highly recommended' Glynis Peters, author of The Secret Orphan 'A heart-rending, devastating, beautiful book that brings Guernsey's past to life in a fresh and thoroughly readable way' Louise Douglas, author of The House by the Sea 'A sweeping tale of love and courage, The Girl from the Island is tender and shocking in equal measure. Get ready for an utterly absorbing, heart-rending read. I loved it' Emma Rous, author of The Au Pair

Expand title description text