Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

Haunting Bombay

ebook

This San Francisco Chronicle bestseller is "[an] intriguing debut [that] seeks to give voice to the dispossessed through the supernatural" (USA Today).

After her mother's death crossing the border from Pakistan to India during Partition, baby Pinky was taken in by her grandmother, Maji, the matriarch of the powerful Mittal family. Now thirteen years old, Pinky lives with her grandmother and her uncle's family in a bungalow on the Malabar Heights in Bombay. While she has never really been accepted by her uncle's family, she has always had Maji's love.

One day, as monsoons engulf the city, Pinky opens a mysteriously bolted door, unleashing the ghosts of an infant who drowned shortly before Pinky's arrival and of the nursemaid who cared for the child. Now, three generations of the Mittal family must struggle to come to terms with their secrets amidst hidden shame, forbidden love, and a call for absolute sacrifice.

"In her stunning debut novel Shilpa Agarwal takes on the ghosts that bedevil young Pinky Mittal's extended family and dispatches them with rambunctious wit and affection. The result is like finely wrought mirror work, a glittering tapestry of vibrant contradictions, characters, and mysteries. Haunting Bombay flirts deliciously with the true spirit of India." —Aimee Liu, author of Flash House

"Will definitely appeal to fans of Monica Ali and Jhumpa Lahiri. . . . Fresh, original." —Library Journal


Expand title description text
Publisher: Soho Press

Kindle Book

  • Release date: April 1, 2009

OverDrive Read

  • ISBN: 9781569477083
  • Release date: April 1, 2009

EPUB ebook

  • ISBN: 9781569477083
  • File size: 798 KB
  • Release date: April 1, 2009

Loading
Loading

Formats

Kindle Book
OverDrive Read
EPUB ebook

Languages

English

This San Francisco Chronicle bestseller is "[an] intriguing debut [that] seeks to give voice to the dispossessed through the supernatural" (USA Today).

After her mother's death crossing the border from Pakistan to India during Partition, baby Pinky was taken in by her grandmother, Maji, the matriarch of the powerful Mittal family. Now thirteen years old, Pinky lives with her grandmother and her uncle's family in a bungalow on the Malabar Heights in Bombay. While she has never really been accepted by her uncle's family, she has always had Maji's love.

One day, as monsoons engulf the city, Pinky opens a mysteriously bolted door, unleashing the ghosts of an infant who drowned shortly before Pinky's arrival and of the nursemaid who cared for the child. Now, three generations of the Mittal family must struggle to come to terms with their secrets amidst hidden shame, forbidden love, and a call for absolute sacrifice.

"In her stunning debut novel Shilpa Agarwal takes on the ghosts that bedevil young Pinky Mittal's extended family and dispatches them with rambunctious wit and affection. The result is like finely wrought mirror work, a glittering tapestry of vibrant contradictions, characters, and mysteries. Haunting Bombay flirts deliciously with the true spirit of India." —Aimee Liu, author of Flash House

"Will definitely appeal to fans of Monica Ali and Jhumpa Lahiri. . . . Fresh, original." —Library Journal


Expand title description text