Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

Harley Loco

ebook
“Terrific . . . Rayya’s stories blew mine away.” —Elizabeth Gilbert
 
“A classic, blood-stained love letter to bohemian NYC.” —Craig Marks

“Much more than a recovery memoir, this big-hearted, funny book is a truthful American story.” —Piper Kerman, author of Orange Is the New Black


When she was seven, Rayya Elias and her family fled the political conflict in their native Syria, settling in Detroit. Bullied in school and caught between the world of her traditional family and her tough American classmates, she rebelled early.

Elias moved to New York City to become a musician and kept herself afloat with an uncommon talent for cutting hair. At the height of the punk movement, life on the Lower East Side was full of adventure, creative inspiration, and temptation. Eventually, Elias’s passionate affairs with lovers of both sexes went awry, her (more than) occasional drug use turned to addiction, and she found herself living on the streets—between her visits to jail.

This debut memoir charts four decades of a life lived in the moment, a path from harrowing loss and darkness to a place of peace and redemption. Elias’s wit and lack of self-pity in the face of her extreme highs and lows make Harley Loco a powerful read that’s sure to appeal to fans of Patti Smith, Augusten Burroughs, and Eleanor Henderson.

Expand title description text
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group

Kindle Book

  • Release date: April 4, 2013

OverDrive Read

  • ISBN: 9781101606186
  • Release date: April 4, 2013

EPUB ebook

  • ISBN: 9781101606186
  • File size: 1188 KB
  • Release date: April 4, 2013

Loading
Loading

Formats

Kindle Book
OverDrive Read
EPUB ebook

Languages

English

“Terrific . . . Rayya’s stories blew mine away.” —Elizabeth Gilbert
 
“A classic, blood-stained love letter to bohemian NYC.” —Craig Marks

“Much more than a recovery memoir, this big-hearted, funny book is a truthful American story.” —Piper Kerman, author of Orange Is the New Black


When she was seven, Rayya Elias and her family fled the political conflict in their native Syria, settling in Detroit. Bullied in school and caught between the world of her traditional family and her tough American classmates, she rebelled early.

Elias moved to New York City to become a musician and kept herself afloat with an uncommon talent for cutting hair. At the height of the punk movement, life on the Lower East Side was full of adventure, creative inspiration, and temptation. Eventually, Elias’s passionate affairs with lovers of both sexes went awry, her (more than) occasional drug use turned to addiction, and she found herself living on the streets—between her visits to jail.

This debut memoir charts four decades of a life lived in the moment, a path from harrowing loss and darkness to a place of peace and redemption. Elias’s wit and lack of self-pity in the face of her extreme highs and lows make Harley Loco a powerful read that’s sure to appeal to fans of Patti Smith, Augusten Burroughs, and Eleanor Henderson.

Expand title description text